Playing Catch Up

Despite having no ‘travels’ to brighten my blog with there are still the odd things that I will share on here every now and again. First and foremost I have got a job – a proper one at that and not the farce that the Care job turned out to be – basically we keep you on our books, offer you a zero hours contract and make you pay for your own CRB check – cobblers I say. Agencies generally come to my rescue at times like this so I am now doing 25 hours a week working in transport at DHL Healthcare. We solely deliver kidney dialysis items to patients and hospitals – at last a job with a purpose. Not too sure how long I’ll be there but I learn to take things in my stride. Life it would appear, is back on track. After a minor blip, the Man in my life realised he was being a knob (I’m not mincing my words here) and we’re back together and things are good. Weird things still happen though that make you think you’ve had a few too many vodka’s and that this is all a dream. Last weekend a simple text and subsequent phone conversation made me question my sanity when his ‘not yet’ Ex (and my ex-friend) got in touch to tell me she’d had an SOS phone call from my Auntie in Newcastle to say my Uncle had died. I was more in a state of shock over ‘her’ being nice to me albeit over the phone than I was about the sad news. The shock soon escalated though when another phone call up north revealed the full f**ked-up-ness that life sometimes sees fit to deal people. It wasn’t too much of a shock that my Uncle Ron had passed after years of heart problems but it still upset me, the big whammy was the untimely death at 37 of my cousins other half and the news that another cousins 11 yr old son had been killed in a road traffic accident. At times like this it hits you that life is too short. So yesterday we dropped the dogs off at kennels, made the 4 hour trip to Newcastle, hastily changing into suitable attire at a service station on the A1, arrived in good time only to find I had the funeral time wrong and we were a good hour or so early, had to succumb to McDonald’s, sat in a freezing cold church for an hour listening to an incompetent priest fumble through the ceremony like a drunk, put up with withering glares from the members of my Mum’s family who I disowned and wouldn’t piss on if they spontaneously combusted, drove like something out of Bullitt behind the hearse through Gateshead to the Crem and then back to the wake for a cuppa and to catch up with the family I do still talk to (but not often enough) only to find introductions weren’t necessary as the Mans bitchy Ex had made sure she filled my Auntie in on all the necessary info which kind of explained why my Mother’s evil sister felt she had to come and say hello (we haven’t spoken in 7 years and life aint that short that I’m about to change that) and aim a sarcastic smile in His direction. No wonder I’m in bloody therapy. 4 more hours of driving to get home. A trip out to collect the dogs and I for one will be glad to get back to work and normality in about 90 minutes time.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

