Be Careful What You Wish For

In the last week I have spent 2 days and nights in my van – that’s not exactly value for money considering what I’m forking out for my slab of concrete and bit of grass. At times it worries me but then surely life is too short. After 5 days of furniture you can move, rooms big enough that the pooches have suddenly discovered they can play, flushing loo’s and running water it’s getting harder to come back to water you have to fetch yourself and bogs you have to empty as well as the restricted space. Yes people I do believe that I’m saying I’ve done my bit, had the adventure and now I’m ready to swap motorhome life for one that’s more stationary. Don’t worry it’s not going to happen now – I’d click my fingers to demonstrate, but I’m crap at it, but things are mulling over in my head in a rather serious fashion. I’m certainly not giving up this ‘dream’ for a bloke if that’s what you think. The only dream I’ve ever had was to live in San Francisco and that little gem has resided in my brain since I was 10 years old, pretty good going considering I didn’t get to step onto American soil until I was 33. It has never been my intention or ideal to spend the rest of my days living in a motorhome. I was pissed off at the world and disillusioned with a shit load of stuff and this seemed like the best solution in a ‘sod work/the rat race/so-called friends/a town-I-hate-which-would-be-vastly-improved-if-a-meteorite-fell-on-it’ kind of way. Therefore I was not looking for a male of the species to share this non-dream. In fact if I had any form of ‘ideal bloke’ list I had convinced myself a long time ago that only a guy who existed in a parallel universe would tick any of the boxes ie: IT was never going to happen so go off do your weird thing, live in a field, knit socks, do whatever cos no one will care. Damn those universes cos sometimes they merge together and weird things happen and you do get to meet someone who likes the same odd crap as you, and they have the same wishes and dreams and yes you may have a difficult and frugal future ahead but what the hell. Shit Happens. I can say I’ve been there, seen it, done it and got the t-shirt which is more than some people can. So what if I didn’t do it according to the rules that some dictate. I stayed on sites and not on cliff tops, car parks or laybys. I plugged my stuff into the electric and didn’t survive off solar panels or by burning rabbit poo to generate power. I didn’t knit my own ravioli and completely shun society and all of its trappings but I really don’t give a rats ass. Ever the firm believer in pleasing one person I did things my way, learned a lot of valuable lessons along the way and can put all of this down to being a mid-life crisis if need be. As for my dream – it’s still alive and kicking but taking a hiatus as the US authorities continue to make things a wee bit impossible. As long as I’m happy I don’t care if I’m living in my car (bit cramped), a garden shed or an outside privvy. I never said this was for keeps and even if I did I’m a woman and therefore I can change my mind when I bloody well like so please dry those tears and pack away the sympathy.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

