The Heart V’s The Head

The thing I initially liked about this travelling lifestyle was that other people’s shit didn’t really effect me anymore whether it was individuals that I knew or bullshitting politicians holed up in Westminster, I felt cocooned from it all. This way of thinking works great until you let someone into your life and then any stupidity or naivety they may have shown in their past life turns around one day and kicks you in the teeth. I’m the first to admit that I love the option this life gives me to just pack up and move when the desire takes me but I have been hankering over a more normal life. I now wish that someone could put me into a frozen state (think Alien) and then wake me up in about 7 yrs cos right now I’m looking at a life in limbo. Any hopes and dreams I had about a future have been snatched away, ripped into bits and binned  in a rather violent manner. Any ‘issues’ that would hopefully be dealt with in time I now have to live with for a long time and none of this is of my doing. I’m a strong believer in that we are all responsible for our own mistakes and they generally shouldn’t affect other people. I’ve made mistakes in my life and sorted them out; been made redundant more times than I care to remember and lived on a pittance until some crappy job or other came along; buried both parents before I hit 32 and disowned the shitty remnants of a family whose expectations I never managed to live up to. I paid off all my debts and got my life in order. I’m 43, this should be my time now to see the world, have adventures and some fun and not shelve the lot until I hit 50. As Mick Jones of The Clash wrote back in 1981, Should I Stay or Should I Go? I guess some things only I can decide and act upon. My advice to myself right now would be ‘stay single and don’t let other people f**k with your life or your head’. Shame I’m crap at listening to myself.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Heart V’s The Head

  1. coolasluck says:

    I feel lucky that my wife shares my dreams ,if i was in your situation i would be telling him that i want to live in a differant way of life ,fulltiming or other and that you want him to fit in with your lifestyle and not the other way.Tell him that you dont like normal and the rat race.

  2. john says:

    do we EVER really listen to ourselves? I think not… we listen to our best friends!

  3. Tim says:

    Don’t worry we’re all crap at listening to our own advice. I’ll bet its not just me out there reading this and feeling for you, keep your chin up girl we’re rooting for you and still loving the blog.

Leave a Reply

