It’s Space Jim But Not As We Know It

Not a lot is really happening here in the way of travel. I’ve had 7 weeks of gadding about like a ferret on a LSD trip, going to festivals and concerts and getting out and about ‘meeting’ people but the poor old Beast has been stationary since we arrived here in the middle of July. Even this last weekend spent in the Peak District wasn’t done camping style. Instead I was in a house with 7 adults (6 of them strangers) and 6 children under 4. Anyone who knows me will know that this is my idea of hell but get yourself in a relationship and this is what you have to do, though I’m not convinced that being stuck in a kitchen with the women while the blokes watch sport is ever going to be something I agree to. I’ve been spending a lot of time under a proper roof and between real walls with the luxury of running water that you don’t have to top up and loo’s that you don’t have to empty and I must admit that the longing for a normal life has been uppermost on my mind. I get back to the van and find it cramped and depressing but then give it an hour or so and I remember why I don’t want that life with its bills and debt and the inability to pack it up and move it somewhere far more attractive, so I guess for now I’ll have to enjoy the best of both worlds. Things on the job front are not going as planned. I’m looking for part-time work doing just about anything and voluntary work to fill in the gaps and boost my CV. Ideally I want to do something that doesn’t take me away from the pooches for more than 5 hours a day but which pays enough to cover site fees with a little left over for a ‘Travel Fund’ so at some point I can escape this bloody place I keep trying so hard to get the hell away from (I’m starting to feel like a character in a 1960’s cult sci-fi series – think The Prisoner, where you think the coast is clear to make your escape but you run down streets and alleys only to find yourself spookily back where you started). I’d also like to make a little cash from the stuff that I make which I think if I can get motivated enough could be achievable. I have a pile of UFO’s to tackle (that’s un-finished objects to you and me) and a growing list of people wanting Granny Blankets. In the mean time I’m still trying to find a cheaper place to stay. A local traveller’s site was mentioned but I think I’ve been given duff info, so it could be one of 2 local layby’s for the odd night here and there and then a variety of local sites to top up the batteries every now and again. I could be ridiculous and hope that I win the Euromillions but I have more chance of being abducted by little green men I think.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Space Jim But Not As We Know It

  1. coolasluck says:

    Hi Linsey, we have been wondering how you have been and what you are up to,glad your ok we have missed your blogs of late mainly cos you havent posted any lol
    Stay safe and keep well
    It appears you are integrating back into the normal way of humdrum,be very careful lol

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      I kind of like the whole ‘being in a house’ bit but then I think about bills for everything crashing through the letterbox and the fact that I’d be stuck there (I’m stuck here anyway) and it gives me one hell of a reality check. Van’s feeling a bit small. I need a garden shed to keep stuff in 🙂

Leave a Reply

