Brrrrr Baby It’s Cold Outside

Well we had some of the dreaded white stuff at the weekend but thankfully it didn’t stick around for long. The joy of motorhoming packed its bags and buggered off for warmer climates (which is what I should do) and I can safely say this lifestyle no longer holds any appeal for me after waking up to a frozen water pump (remedied with my hairdryer and half an hour of blasting the pump and pipes with warm air), frozen waste pipes on several occasions, a freezer that defrosts itself at will despite having vent covers in place and an arctic gale that blows in through the oven and kitchen cupboards (my cutlery is too cold to touch). On the site the only source of water is from the house or the showers and we had a day of no electric which Eddy didn’t even bother to warn me about as he ‘forgot’ cos I’m over the far side of the field. I may be female and have pink hair but I’ve enough life experience to not fall for complete bollocks and bullshit so he was wasting his breath by apologising after the power went off. This weekend promises temperatures of -5 to -9 (oh joy) and I’ve admitted defeat and swapped the 4.5 tog duvet for a 13.5 tog one. I’m thinking of flogging my Gaslow system and having normal bottles instead as I can’t be arsed to keep dragging this off the field to go fill up having realised that the vans onboard heater works better off gas.

I celebrated my 43rd birthday on Wednesday with the grand total of 2 cards but at least I had pressies off ‘The Man’ and we spent the day at the Transport Museum in Coventry so for the first time in about 13 years it wasn’t a crock of shit despite the lack of people remembering.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brrrrr Baby It’s Cold Outside

  1. yorkiemad says:

    Its a lonely life in the winter.Keep your chin up gal

  2. Trish says:

    Our heater is rubbish on gas also so we run a small low wattage electric fire, keeps us warm on these horrible nights minus 6 here last night.
    NIce to have a face to the blog, love the pictures:)
    We too would love to get to warmer climes but with Susie’s problem we cant, she’s defying the vets prediction of only having 4 to 6 months left, she is now into the 6 months and still no worse.
    Minus 6 here last night and luckily we have tank heaters so stopped the water freezing anyway.
    NIce to hear you have a fella to keep you company and warm 🙂

    Keep up the good work!!
    Would have sent you a card but didn’t know where to send it lol
    My birthday on the 27th and I only got one from daughter and one from hubby, lonely life being full time innit?? Did go to the Tropicana on ice though in Brighton lovely evening.

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      My heater works great on gas but crap on electric but can’t always get off the grass to go fill my Gaslow bottles which is a pain

Leave a Reply

