I Will Walk 500 Miles

I’ve come to realise a lot of things this week. I’m finding my 2nd winter in the van pretty disheartening and I wish I were somewhere warm and sunny – but not Spain, I loathe the idea of setting foot in that country. Being pitched away from the masses is all well and good but it loses its appeal when you have to walk across a field to the freezing cold showers/to get water/to empty the thetford cassette. If 2 people and 2 small dogs wish to inhabit a motorhome then it has to be bigger than mine and 1 of them preferably doesn’t work nights! Being parked on a hill with a great view guarantees you’ll freeze your arse off when the sub zero winds get up and heaters can be counted on to pack up/misbehave when it’s colder than a penguin’s butt outside.

I am now considered to be a resident here. That means I only pay £50 a week but my electricity is metered which could prove to be painful considering how flipping cold it’s getting. Eddy appeared concerned that I was so far away from civilisation (and the showers) but he seems content to leave me where I am now he has figured out that I’m bonkers. I’ve been picking his brains regarding my search for a 2nd hand car and we’ve narrowed it down to anything German or Japanese – good job I don’t have a chip on my shoulder about past conflicts or I’d be stuffed. I’ve had a hire car for 10 days (Enterprise love me) but I can’t say I’ve felt much benefit for the £200+ rental and petrol costs and the 600 miles driven though I did go to a funeral of an old family friend and I was recognised as my parents daughter by a lot of people I wouldn’t know from Adam (apparently the pink hair is a dead give away); and I did go and get my lip pierced (again) and  No I’m not having a mid-life crisis. I had it done 13 years ago but took it out on a whim so I decided to once again put myself through the agony and mutilation of having a thick needle rammed through my flesh by a girl who looked about 12 yrs old. I now have a fat lip but I should be back to normal in about 6 weeks! I’ve spent too many mornings getting up at a ridiculous hour to go collect the Man from work which meant a lot of time sitting outside Asda’s distribution warehouse – a place of work I was forced to leave, but that’s another story. Revenge was mine though as I took Timmy with me one morning and let him piss up their ornamental hedge. They should count themselves lucky he didn’t do the other as I would have left it in place such is my hatred for the place. I’m hoping that we don’t get any of the white stuff this weekend as my love of full-time motorhoming is walking a very thin line at the moment. Hurry up spring I say.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

