Seasons Greetings

Earlier on today this was just going to be a brief rambling about the people I was thinking about today but as the day has gone on it’s going to turn into an honest piece about how I truly feel on Christmas Day – not just today, but every Dec 25th for the last 10 years. It doesn’t matter where you take yourself off to – holiday cottages, foreign countries, busy campsites in London, you never escape how it feels to be on your own. Don’t get me wrong I’ve had the usual handful of phone calls and text messages (none of which I can reply to right now) from people saying they’re ‘thinking about me’ which is kind of great but sometimes you just wish their thinking would stretch to involving you cos that’s all you’ve ever really wanted. And of course there’s always someone who will tell you how lucky you are to be on your own because you can do what you want and eat what you want and you don’t have family to spend it with and they can’t get on your nerves. Well, I apologise if your sentiments don’t sit well with me. Personally I don’t see anything lucky in losing your family before you hit 31 but if you’d like to trade places with me and see how it feels for a few years then be my guest.

The people I’ve been thinking about today are those who have no home and no one to care about them. The people who have to work in the emergency services and the people who volunteer their time so that others less fortunate than them can have something resembling a nice Christmas. Today I’m not interested in the ones who’ve spent months moaning about how much money they’ve spent and probably several more months complaining about the extra debt they have. The ones who have griped about having to spend today with their family or their other half’s family or the people who will be ungrateful about what they did receive and bitter about what they didn’t receive.

For that I am grateful.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seasons Greetings

  1. coolasluck says:

    Happy Christmas Linzie,i have been stuck in bed all day today with a cold/flue from hell,but corina has been a gem looking after me.All the best for next year to you with your dogs from us both.Your always welcome to pay us a visit you know dogs would be welcome too you know.

Leave a Reply

