If Memory Serves Me Well

Finally I have done something touristy. No I didn’t fork out a wedge of cash to visit the castle which would no doubt be over run with screaming brats, I took a stroll down to St John’s House which houses the Social History collection reflecting the lives of Warwickshire people over the last 300 years from school to work to death. Amongst the items on display was a small blue dressing gown. Sounds unremarkable but I had one exactly the same. Red with ladybird buttons – made by a company of the same name and sold in Woolworth’s back in the day. I loved that dressing gown and so did my Mum. It actually left me with a lump in my throat. Upstairs though was really what I was interested in. The Royal Warwickshire Regiment museum. My Grandad served in said regiment – not that I knew this. A visitor pointed it out to me when they saw a photo of him hanging up in my house. I don’t know about you but I have very sketchy details of my family history, having never really asked that much about my Grandparents or Great Grandparents and by the time I became interested there was no one around to ask anymore. Anyway, the very kind Gentleman in the museum was more than happy to look at the medals I’d had the foresight to take with me and he looked up what he could using the War Graves commission website and the National Archives. I now know that it was likely my Great Grandad did indeed spend some time on the front line during the first World War but not so my Grandad as it’s possible his job skills made him more useful here though he would still have been in uniform and stationed somewhere in the UK. I now have to dig out some photos and any paper info I may have lurking, do a bit of online digging and re-visit the museum with what I find. Meanwhile I’m debating whether or not someone with a still swollen and painful 3.5 month old sprained ankle should really be thinking about climbing up the 134 foot high tower of St Mary’s church in the town. This time I would do it in sensible footwear as I’ve sold my ridiculous New Rock boots that I wore when I climbed the 360+ steps up The Belfry in Brugge and I never want to feel like my heart will explode in my chest again thank you very much and goodnight.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

