Hippies on Tor

At last I have found the one place where being a scarlet haired, pierced and tattooed weirdo is the norm. Welcome to Glastonbury. This morning dawned fairly clear so I headed off up the Tor. Anyone would think I was a fan of hill walking all of a sudden. The 360 degree views were unbelievable and you could see for miles.

It was so peaceful, there were several aging hippies sitting in the ruin of St Michael’s with their eyes closed as if on another planet. It really lives up to its reputation as a magical and spiritual place.

I can see my van!

I carried on into the town ready for a cuppa after all of that walking only to discover my purse was still in the van which was a mile and a half away. What a prize muppet. I trudged back just as the heavens opened, had a quick cuppa and grabbed my brolly and
then walked back into Glastonbury again – ouch my feet. Why am I not rake thin? Oh right – chocolate. Don’t expect your normal high street or Starbucks here. There’s a Boots, Co-op and a few charity shops – full of hippy skirts, afghans and kaftans, but the rest were all hippy-dippy/gothic/spiritual places with the best  shop name going to ‘The Psychic Piglet’. People walk the streets here dressed like Mexican’s without the sombrero or in full hippy gear complete with dreadlocks and no-one bats an eyelid. In fact it’s the normal people who stand out and it isn’t even festival time.

Typical Glastonbury shop

This is the place where you can get tattooed/pierced/have your tarot cards read/fortune told and be spiritually healed or cleansed. I figure it’s also the place to come and live if you intend on being a weirdo well into your old age. Better get property hunting for when I reach 50 then cos I have no intention of becoming normal. I feel like I should be dancing around to James Taylor (thanks to my neighbours) in a floaty frock, with bare feet and flowers in my hair.

The Glastonbury Thorn

Maybe someone who camps under canvas can shed some light on why one couple with 2 small children (they are all built like wrestlers) need a tent that is bigger than my van. It must be at least 30ft long by 10ft wide and it has a porch on the side that you could park a small car in. Talking of cars they have 2 and a trailer. Why? I watched last night as they returned from their day out and sat around sulking as 2 more tents had been pitched by them. Am I missing something here? I’m all for space and comfort but surely that’s taking the piss just ever so slightly.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

