Chicago, Chicago

“As I was going to St Ives                                                                                                                         I met a man with seven wives                                                                                                       Each wife had seven sacks                                                                                                              Each sack had seven cats                                                                                                                 Each cat had seven kits                                                                                                                     Kits, cats, sacks, wives. How many were going to St Ives?”

The answer at 7.45 am yesterday was 3 – me and the 2 pooches. Bit of an ungodly hour to be up and about but I wanted to be sure I found enough space to park The Beast. £5.30 for the day is all well and good when you’re parking a car but a bit shocking when paying for 2 spaces – damn, so we were there for the day whether we liked it or not. I’d like to mention the miserable shit in the leisure centre who wouldn’t change my fiver due to them ‘not keeping that much money on the premises’. Yeah right. I’m assuming their customers pay with shells and chickens then do they? Weather was beautiful and the steep climb down to the town wasn’t so bad. Luckily my friend had opened her shop (Red Hot Sal’s bead shop) early so we even got a coffee and her daughter took the pooches out to introduce them to all of the local shop keepers. I have to admit to being pleased and somewhat amused that the ashes beads have taken off in a big way since I commissioned her to experiment with putting the dogs ashes into glass. I just don’t think that either of us expected that she’d be doing more ‘Mum and Dad’ than dog and cat. She’s even making a batch containing the local butcher. Fantastic.

Sal's shop just off Fore St. Do visit

We took a wander down to the harbour. Hard to believe how narrow the streets are and so much worse when crammed with tourists and cars trying to get by.

Salty Old Sea Dog complete with mobility scooter

We sat down the front to marvel at the fantastic light that seems exclusive to St Ives. No wonder Artists flock here – not that we saw many. There were plenty of typically British sites to be seen that perhaps shouldn’t be. People way too large to be so scantily clad and that old british favourite, sunburn. Most attractive. Some of the shopkeepers were obviously expecting an overspill from the riots in London, Brum and Manchester and were warning the arseholes what would happen to them….

Superb

The smell of proper Cornish Pasty’s was just overwhelming. Did I get to sample one? Sadly no. I’ve yet to find anywhere that makes a gluten-free version so the dogs got to share a steak and gravy pasty. Lucky beggars

Pasty, pasty, pasty, pasty

Oy!! That was my bit

We met a very nice couple from Chicago USA. Sadly they didn’t want to adopt me. I didn’t see much evidence of evil seagull attacks though there were plenty prowling around the front. I think Cornish life suits me very well and I really don’t want to leave. At least we can come back and it will be even more enjoyable when not crammed with kids and their parents. Many have told me it’s the place to be later on in the year when it’s wild and windy and the waves are crashing against the shore.

Oh and I made 2 car drivers very happy by giving them each one of my car park tickets. I’m such a saint.

I have now booked myself another 2 weeks in Cornwall at Sennen Cove so we’ll be here until Sept 11th at least. How long do I have to stay before I’m considered a Southerner?

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

