Thou shouldst be for all ladies and fight for their quarrels

I don’t think I have ever been so in awe and dumbstruck as I was today when I stood below the Round Table in Winchester’s Great Hall. I’m sure my old history teacher Mr Collins would be proud that I’m such a medieval history freak 26 years after running hell for leather out of the school gates and passing my O level (grade A don’t you know).  This may not be the original table but at 18ft wide and weighing in at 1200kg it’s a pretty impressive chunk of oak. Maybe there’s a part of me that wishes gallantry was still alive and kicking in the 21st century and that knights on chargers did indeed come to your rescue. Winchester was really rather impressive though today I only managed to visit the Great Hall and the Castle ruins with a bit of retail hell thrown in for good measure (it’s time to update my camera). Tomorrow I’ll be taking in the Cathedral and the towns working Water Mill. If I have time I may have to go back to stand and stare once more at where possibly Sir Lancelot and Sir Galahad once sat. I’m even more determined now to visit as many places associated with King Arthur as I can even if it’s just an excuse to return to Glastonbury and the Abbey which 1st kicked off this obsession of mine.

King Alfred the Great

Winchester's Great Hall

The Round Table

I’ve realised the joys of campsites during the summer holidays. Other people’s kids find me fascinating, not just because I have Miss Congeniality and Mr Grumpy Pants at the end of a lead but because of the candyfloss coloured hair and the ‘pictures’ adorning my person. The speed at which the parents sprint over to whisk their offspring away is a source of amusement though but does kind of reflect on the world they’re raising their kids in. Not all weirdos are scary and dangerous but these Stepford parents appear to tar us all with the same brush.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

