If You Want Me I’m in the Shed

We waved a cheery goodbye to Henley-on-Thames this morning and headed off for Sevenoaks. Not exactly your usual holiday destination and you really don’t want to know my reasons for coming here as you’d only disapprove. Ok you twisted my arm – I’m here for a man. Anyway the weather appears to have unleashed all hell on us and we crawled around the M25 at a pathetic pace. Now Oldbury Hill is the first proper Camping & Caravan Site I’ve stayed on since I joined. I find their campsite search website a pain in the arse and the book you get is almost impossible to find your way around without a map and a compass so it should have come as no surprise when the Warden’s announced to me that the ‘standard pitch’ I’d booked wasn’t one will electric hook up – oh joy. That would be a serviced pitch which in everyone elses eyes is a pitch with its own water & waste supply. Luckily for me the leccy is only fully booked tomorrow so I’ll have to slum it and go off grid for one night only. Bit disappointed in the site – it’s a sloping field and that’s it. Pitches are far too close together and the facilities are at the top of the slope while I am at the bottom. After 9 days I should be marathon ready that’s for sure. On the plus side the Wardens are extremely friendly and helpful and the dog walk is just awesome as it’s miles and miles of walks through woods so these 2 give it the paws up. I can only hope that my reason for being here doesn’t disappoint me – wouldn’t be the 1st time. My jokey comment to a friend last night that I needed a few days without the internet and my mobile so that nobody could contact me may come to fruition as the signal here is lousy to non-existent. This is about as wild as I intend on getting.

How not to level your van

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If You Want Me I’m in the Shed

  1. stew says:

    in fulltimer lingo a shed is a house..so whats happening lol

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      It’s just a sarcastic reference to Kent being the garden of England whereas this site is more like being locked in the tool shed or sat atop the compost heap :o)

Leave a Reply

