Hip Hip Hooray Henry

Sunday and the last day of the Henley Regatta. I figured it had to be worth a closer look so I donned the poshest clothes I had (M&S charity shop flowery skirt) and toddled off into the town to rub shoulders with the Hoy Polloi and to see what all the fuss was about. Lots of big marquees – £35 to get in, I think not. Tremendous amounts of wine and champagne being quaffed. Lots of terribly posh tall young men dressed in blazers etc and lots of women proving that they’re a slave to fashion and some of them proving there was a distinct lack of mirrors in their house. It’s one of those occasions where you’d be better off in company as a solefemale/pink hair/tattoos kind of sticks out like a sore thumb. Not that I really wanted to infiltrate their social circles but it would have been nice to have had a nosey. I made do with taking lots of pointless pictures, eating ice cream by the riverside (the closest you’ll get me to a damn boat) and admiring the scenery – Crumpet and Henley. I have no doubt most of these people wouldn’t
consider me worthy enough to pick up after their dogs but that probably makes me the better person.  Today I found out that you can get temp jobs at the Regatta and also some of the big horse race meetings so that could be my ticket into seeing how the other half lives and parties next year. There is a dress code – I can’t wait to see how many of those boxes I don’t tick.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

