Sex on Fire – Pour on Water

Finally the first of this years big gigs rolled around. The Kings of Leon at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry. In typical bank holiday tradition it pissed it down all day so I had to make an emergency trip to Jackson’s at Arley to buy myself a lovely, non fashionable purple kagool or kag-in-a-bag as it’s now affectionately known. Of course by the time we arrived at the venue it had stopped raining – oh well, it’ll come in handy for walking the dogs. I think all bands playing such huge venues should be made to have a central stage as our view was shite and we were only ¼ of the way back. To add insult to injury 3 rather charming (drunk) blokes came and took root in front of us, the tallest being 6ft 6”.

Ban tall people I say

After a lot of piss taking and cajoling they did let us stand in front of them which helped a wee bit. I still ended up seeing most of the concert through other people’s bloody iPhones and cameras so maybe next time I’ll have to give in and buy a seated ticket for a better view, zero atmosphere and the stigma of feeling like an old fart. The rain stayed away until the end by which time it didn’t matter as we were already soaked by the variety of flying bottles that the drunken scumbags insisted on throwing. I’m hoping they contained flat beer and not bodily fluids. The fact that dogs weren’t trying to cock their legs on my head convinced me it wasn’t wee but I made my mate sniff my hair just to be on the safe side (beer).  Sore feet, sore back and neck and ringing ears were a small price to pay for 2 hours of Tennessee’s finest sexpots. Take That next which I’m sure will be brilliant despite the carbuncle that is Robbie Williams. I wonder if I can sneak a brick into the arena in my bag?

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

