Bodge It and Make Do

The longer I have this van the more things I notice that the ‘dealer’ should be ashamed of letting go. Life’s too short to dwell on the ‘if only’s’  so instead I have decided if you can’t beat them then join them. My neighbour attempted to have a go at fixing my leaking kitchen sink this morning as it’s the one thing that is seriously starting to get on my tits so to speak, but as the plughole screws have been superglued in he had to give up as we’re on a campsite and not exactly overwhelmed with tools and gadgets. The one thing I thought I could fix/replace was the dodgy bathroom door catch which on closer inspection by somebody ‘in the know’ appeared to be missing some major components so no wonder the damn door won’t lock. Off we toddled to the swanky new Jackson’s at Arley in the new LOML – the Peugeot 107 (I don’t want to give it back) with a list of stuff to get. The kind spares man told me he could order me a new lock complete with rods but I could get it to lock if I bodged it. So that’s what I did. It’s amazing what you can do with the plastic lid off a Pringle’s tin but my door now locks and will do. I don’t have to tie it to the shower to keep it closed so that suits me. We also managed to mackle something together to attach a length of waste pipe to the vans grey tank. To finish off I applied the vans new stickers to its arse – all in all a productive afternoon if I do say so myself. I might get a custom-made sticker which says ‘Van supplied by Arthur Daley Motors’ as that wouldn’t be far from the truth. The to do list now consists of the following:-

  • Get kitchen sink fixed so it doesn’t leak into my drawers (ha ha)
  • Get leaking shower fixed so I can have water pump on & fill tank instead of using bottled water
  • Get water heater fixed now I know what the problem is

I think that’s it but as there have been so many hiccups I have no doubt that some things have escaped my memory. This all contributes to the ‘How not to Motorhome’ book that will make me famous one day.

Eat Pringles - they fix doors

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

