The Final Farewell. Chloe 1995 – 2011

This was the day I was dreading when I would look at Chloe and decide that the dementia had robbed me of so much of my little dog and made her life one of distress and confusion. Even though the thought had crossed my mind on numerous occasions over the past year and I’d discussed ‘that day’ with the Vet it didn’t make it any easier to make that phone call and take our last journey together. We had our final cuddle and smooch outside in the sunshine and I was there to the end. Devastated is an understatement to describe how I feel but there’s an element of relief in knowing that the condition that had chipped away at her brain can’t hurt her anymore and she’s in a better place. The last of The Ninja’s is no more but she made a big impression on everybody who met her and she was there for me through all of the good and bad when the majority of people turned out to be a letdown. For that I am eternally grateful. The van is too quiet without her and her stuff is still lying around and will stay where it is until I can bear to put it away. She is being cremated with her beloved piece of ‘manky sheep’ blanket and her ‘hot dog’ water bottle cover. The lovely people at Kings Hill didn’t bat an eyelid but then I guess they see all sorts.  This was the dog I held in my hands at 1 day old, whose tail never stopped wagging even when she slept, who would ‘die’ so that my Mum could stroke her belly with her walking stick, who would come and sit on you if you were upset even if it was only down to a weepy film, who would lie on her back while I played Meatloaf’s ‘Dead Ringer for Love’ on her belly, who would lie across my Mum when she was crocheting one of her marathon baby shawls, who loved going to Starbucks every Sunday in the car with Roo and Pixie for coffee and cake,who was happily spoon fed Crunchy Nut Cornflakes and milk for breakfast every morning and who I smooched around the van with singing Biffy Clyro’s ‘Many of Horror’ to which she didn’t appreciate and I’d get a smack in the face with a Ninja paw.

Sleep tight my angel I miss you x

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Final Farewell. Chloe 1995 – 2011

  1. planetsalma says:

    Dear Lynsey,

    Ever since I have known you, I knew you had the biggest heart going even though your sarky comments and sense of humour might make people think otherwise! I knew because of the love and care you showed towards the three musketeers! They ate better than me and drank at Starbucks! They even came to work and were gorgeous spoilt little things! You gave them a good life. They were like your babies.

    Chloe has had the time of her life travelling with you and you will have tons of happy memories.

    Now Chloe has gone to dog heaven, Don’t feel down because her suffering is over now. You should feel at peace knowing that you treated all of your little’uns with the utmost care and gave them a good life.

    Take care xxxx

  2. Helen (Aggy ) says:

    Hi hunny,just wanted to say I am so sorry for your loss. We all know the day will come when we will lose our furbabys but it does not make it any easier.You can take pride in giving Chloe a very good life and taking her to places some doggies never see. I am thinking of you and your other babys at this sad time. My love to you all and run free from pain at Rainbow Bridge Chloe.xxxx

  3. jo says:

    Such sad news this morning Lyns :o(

    Little Ninja will stay in our hearts, and her choccie buttons will stay in our fridge. Run free Chloe.

    Love Johnny x Jo x Lily (foster mum) x and Pip x

  4. sue says:

    Hi just wanted to let you know that although we’ve never met I just wanted to say im sorry for your loss, anyone thats lost a pet after so many years will understand what you are going through, also didnt want you to think you going through it on your own, you made the right choice for her she will always be with you in your heart and memories nobody can take them away.

  5. lorna says:

    HI SO SORRY TO HEAR THE SAD NEWS BUT SHE HAD BEEN POORLY FOR A LONG TIME I KNOW HOW MUCH SHE MENT TO YOU AND YOUR MUM YOU BOTH LOVED HER TO BITS .SO REMEMBER ALL THE GOOD TIMES YOU HAD WITH HER AND ALL THE LAUGHS .KEEP YOUR CHIN UP THINKING OF YOU STAY SAFE

Leave a Reply

