Dark Side of the Lune

My last day in Lancashire and it’s been emotional. My friend sure knows how to show a girl a good time as we ventured into Lancaster once more but via Gypo Towers – the epitome of bad taste. Why is it that Travellers don’t get that less is more? Fake red sandstone, Griffins on pillars, Lion statues and heads everywhere and an Elephant in the front garden – does that not smack of being just a wee bit OTT? We must have looked a right pair of nutters screeching to a halt outside so that I could take photos but it had to be seen to be believed. Money does not buy you class. I went slightly bonkers in Fabrix (sells what it says on the tin) buying up jazzy fabric to make bunting to decorate the van and 2 cushions with motorhomes on them. Jo had to drag me out of there but I will return next week in search of fabric with toilets on it – I have a project in mind. We spend a few hours in Williamson’s Park with the pooches and the dregs of society and also did the rounds of the local campsites trying to find me somewhere cheap to stay when I come back here next week. Of the 5 sites we discovered, 2 of them should be raised to the ground for resembling something from ‘The Hills Have Eyes’ or worse, 1 was a non contender due to lack of facilities and the remaining 2 are serious contenders. I can’t wait to return mainly because I think this trip to Coniston is a waste of time. Serves me right for thinking that a long weekend with the Love of my Life will amount to anything – yeah one huge big disappointment. Good job there’s plenty to see and do. Maybe now I’ll realise that I’ve wasted 6 years on a bloke and that the ones who pop up out of the woodwork wanting to ‘rescue’ and help me are just as unreliable as he is.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dark Side of the Lune

  1. serena says:

    I’ve FINALLY caught up after getting the site unblocked!! Now get writing some more please and thank you for being so entertaining!
    🙂

  2. lorna says:

    HI THANKS FOR POSTCARD IT LOOKS SMASHING GLAD YOUR HAVING A GREAT TIME WENT TO LONDON TO SEE WIZARD OF OZ LIKE YOU HAD A WONDERFUL TIME FELL IN LOVE WITH THE PLACE CANT WAIT TO GO BACK COVENT GARDENS THE EYE IT WAS GREAT WHEN ARE YOU BACK IN THIS NECK OF THE WOODS OR ARE YOU STAYING UP THERE FOR A WHILE IF YOU CAN GET A JOB ANYWAY ALL THE BEST STAY SAFE MOTHER

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      I’ll be back on May 19th and staying on a site just off the A5 at Claybrooke. Didn’t enjoy the Lakes much but then I wasn’t there for the scenery :o)

Leave a Reply

