God’s Waiting Room

You know that scene at the end of ‘Beetlejuice’ where the main character has to take a ticket to see someone in the afterlife’s waiting room? Well that’s what it was like at the DVLA in Wimbledon today. My dilemma was do I wait for the site mail to arrive (usually between 12.30 and 1pm) and then risk having to rush off or do I assume the worst and go and collect a replacement tax disc just in case? Being so used to my crap luck after all these years I set off at 11 – 1 bus and 2 tram rides and 1 hour later I arrived at the DVLA office, took my ticket like a good girl and sat waiting for my turn. 30+ people in front of me and a supposed waiting time of 32 minutes – yeah right. 50 minutes later I emerged feeling very weary and in need of caffeine but with a tax disc. As I walked in the gate, Mark the fab Assistant Warden came running out of reception waving a white envelope at me and it was then that I knew I’d just wasted 4 hours of my life that I won’t ever get back. He was so excited waiting for me to open the damn envelope that had arrived at 11.30 (scream) it was almost like Christmas and yes it did indeed contain one tax disc. Talk about spitting feathers. I’m sure I could’ve done something far more intellectual with my day. To make up for my lack of culture I went in search of Crystal Palace park’s Dinosaurs. Hmm not quite the find I was looking for but 90 minutes of fresh air knackered both dogs out and just about put an end to my knees. Northampton tomorrow. Am I excited? In a word – No.

Oooh Dinosaurs

My own personal dinosaur

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

