The Accidental Tourist

I usually try my best to avoid following the tourist herds that wander the streets like groups of delusional sheep but today that was just impossible. No: 3 bust to Trafalgar Square and ‘Oh My God!’ how many people!? I suppose a Saturday wasn’t the best day to do this so I photographed Nelson’s Column like you do, Admiralty Arch with Buckingham Palace in the distance – that’s as close as I wish to get thank you. Cuppa at Caffe Nero – I am officially a coffee shop tart as a quick glance in my purse will reveal loyalty cards to the usual suspects , then a walk down Whitehall past Horseguards where can you believe it, Foreign tourists had the nerve to photograph my hair and without asking first! How rude.

Trafalgar Square with Westminster in the distance

Nice Masserati - shame about the parking ticket

Go on Horsey - bite her!

Stopped off at Dave’s house but I had little chance of saying hi due to the Colditz style operation at the entrance to Downing Street – what a dark and dingy street it is. If I was in the market for property it wouldn’t be my choice with no natural light at the front.  

I wonder if Dave's got the kettle on?

Hmmm that'll be me not getting through then

Trudged down to Parliament Square – more tourists photographing my hair. So it’s pink, big deal. I should start charging them for the privilege. I photographed everything remotely iconic by which time I was ready to collapse onto the bus again. It did cross my mind that maybe I could join the Anti-war protestors in Parliament Square or do you think they might notice a rather large motorhome in amongst the make-shift tents?

I wonder if they'd notice me parking The Beast with the this lot?

See this bus - I love this bus. It is my GTi

My intentions of shopping, lottery and candyfloss (from the fair in the park) were ditched as I spent over an hour chatting to a couple who I met in Bruges and who follow my blog. It’s nice to catch up and to bump into people you’ve met on your travels and I now have a few more sites that come highly recommended. I don’t think the pooches appreciated hanging around for that length of time and it would appear that Timmy’s no longer speaking to me. Oh well he’ll get over it. In keeping with my random plans we are now staying here until Tuesday as my tax disc still hasn’t arrived in the mail so I have the grand task of visiting Wimbledon DVLA on Monday to get a replacement.  For those of you who think is one continuous holiday for me, this is anything but the easy life believe me. As I half lie on the seat with my laptop perched precariously on my knees whilst trying to make my day out seem entertaining and amusing, the Ninja has been pacing the floor for hours, the washing up doesn’t appear to be doing itself and the laundry pile is taking over the cab area – a bit like The Magic Porridge Pot for people of a certain age. The only bit of normal life I’d kill for right now would be a long hot bath and a washing machine at my disposal 24 hrs a day and for free. Other than that the nomad life still appeals and pastures new are beckoning. Oh and ‘cute dog walking guy’ wasn’t in the park this morning – I am deeply wounded.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Accidental Tourist

  1. lesley says:

    I think if u give Dave 24hrs notice of your arrival then the kettle is on an the biccies are on the plate ready for you. Gives em time to dust round as well!

Leave a Reply

