Oh Superman

Despite feeling like road-kill this morning (I had a visitor last night I blame him) I trooped off to grab the no: 3 bus and the underground to the V&A as it had been a few years since I last visited. Now unfortunately for the museum I witnessed a sight at Victoria that would just eclipse anything else I was going to see for the rest of the day, in fact the rest of my life. As I walked up the bustling platform to get the next tube train to South Kensington there stood a bloke with what I can only describe as the most bonkers fashion sense in the world. He stood in the middle of the platform with a good 3ft radius of space around him (you’ll see why) so being brave I stood right next to him. He was about late 40’s early 50’s and he was wearing a red footie shirt with a grey t-shirt over the top. This was adorned with 6 or 7 crucifixes and chains and all tucked into a pair of 2 tone grey striped trouser + trainers and a baseball cap. Nothing odd about that I hear you say. Over the top of his trousers he was wearing what I thought to be a pair of white Y fronts but on closer inspection (yes you heard me) turned out to be a pair of Calvin Klein jockeys – the kind with a roomy ‘pouch’ at the front for those well endowed men out there. Sadly this guys pouch had room for tenants. To top off this ensemble he was towing behind him a large shiny plastic white with strawberries on it shopping trolley and he was serious as hell so no he was not doing it for charity as someone has suggested to me. On the train I was trying to take photos discreetly with my camera phone without looking dead obvious as I was nearly in tears. A young couple next to him just couldn’t believe it and pity the straight laced business man who was trying very hard not to lose it. 

Does my bum look big in this?

Seriously folks you'll all be wearing this next season

Anyway, circus freak show over the V&A was great and I especially loved the jewellery exhibition though sadly you weren’t allowed to take photos. I took time to appreciate some of the South Korean/Chinese and Japanese artefacts on display and also some of the sculpture. As there were several school parties about to descend on the Natural History Museum I decided not to and slummed it around Harrods for an hour, had a coffee and tittered at my photos of Pants Man. It must have been loony day as the woman who sat next to me in Krispy Kremes didn’t buy any food or drink and just sat there talking to and singing Beatles songs to herself. I couldn’t make this up for April Fool’s Day if I tried. I do wonder why I bothered going abroad when so much fun can be had in the nations capital. I’m seriously tempted to stay a bit longer but I just can’t.

Eve statue

South Korean clothing

V&A

Harrods

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh Superman

  1. rp272 says:

    Hi
    I’m glad that you are enjoying the site at Crystal Palace. We have been following your blog since we met you at Camping Memling last December. It is very good and We agree with much of what you have said although as caravanners we believe that many of your comments don’t apply to us!!!

    We will arrive at CP tomorrow (Saturday) so will unfortunately miss seeing you as I think you said youe wre returning to Coventry to collect your tax disk.

    Perhaps we will meet up somewhere else.

    Please keep posting. It is most amusing to read.

    R&K

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      OMG no I’m here until Monday the 4th now cos I just don’t want to leave so I’ll look out for you. I’m on pitch 41 – same pink hair and broken window. Of course my jibes don’t apply to all caravanners, there are some equally as daft motorhomers and I have my moments too :o)

  2. lesley says:

    omg how weird is that! You know what they say tho. It takes alsorts etc and diffferent strokes for different folks.

Leave a Reply

