Scaramouch, Scaramouch Will You Do the Fandango

This travelling Nomad is feeling chock full of culture. Sunday was a lazy day but I managed to visit the Crystal Palace museum in the park. For such a tiny building it held plenty of interest and the volunteers were only too happy to tell you the history and answer any questions. Yesterday I tripped off to the Tate Britain – good job it was free admission as it was a huge disappointment. I only saw 4 paintings worth a closer look so the visit was a brief one and I buggered off to Starbucks.

Tate Britain. Looks impressive from the outside

But the inside made me feel like drowning myself

MI5 - are you hiring?

 

Last night was theatre night. So exciting as I’ve always wanted to see a show in London and I’d finally settled on ‘We Will Rock You’ (thanks to a bargain ticket). It was very loud, very bonkers and I enjoyed every minute of it especially when they did Bohemian Rhapsody at the end – my favourite. I now have the theatre bug and want to go again before I leave – the 2 favourites are War Horse and Priscilla Queen of the Desert but the cheap seats would see me hanging from the lighting gantry. Why is it that walking through the underground at night always makes me think of ‘An American Werewolf in London’ and not in a good way? Some of the locals were a little odd looking so I guess a huge wolf wouldn’t go amiss really. Today I braved the hell that is Oxford Street, all of those tourists and tourist tat – eugh. In Hamley’s I was pounced upon by staff members who resembled something from The Stepford Wives. I only wanted to look at the Steiff Bears I couldn’t justify buying. Caffe Nero gave me the chance to observe the typical London Male whilst enjoying my tea. I think the iPhone is the new ‘penis envy’ as the suits all seem to have them and play with them constantly in a ‘ look at mine it’s got more apps/is bigger than yours’ way. The guy trying to gunning the engine of his (beautiful) Masserati in Oxford Street whilst doing 2mph was another one. Hmmm seriously lacking something in the manhood department me thinks. Primark was my ultimate target and I got well and truly sucked in. In fact I only went in for an umbrella as it was raining and came out with about 6 items – typical woman.

Carnaby Street - the sign was impressive

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scaramouch, Scaramouch Will You Do the Fandango

  1. lorna says:

    Glad you are ok and enjoying london thanks for the postcard it arrived this morning We are coming to Lndon at the end of the month .Going to see Wizard of oz on saturday and the EYE ON SUNDAY .How long are you staying in london.and where are you going next. Have a good time.and please stay safe xx

Leave a Reply

