Bedknobs, Broomsticks, Chips and Paint bombs

A sign appeared on the site last night warning us to stay away from central London today as there was an ‘Anti-government cuts’ demonstration taking place. I did joke that maybe I should join in but the estimated turnout of 100,000 had turned into 5 times that by the time I boarded the bus this morning so I changed my mind and stuck with my original plan of visiting Portobello Road Market.  From the long list of markets to visit this one was recommended and I couldn’t get the song out of my head from Disney’s Bedknobs and Broomsticks film so it seemed like a good idea. In hindsight I wish I’d exited the underground at South Kensington and visited yet another museum. I hate crowds and when you’re moving slower than if you were walking through treacle it’s even worse. There were some funky looking shops and plenty of tat available on a variety of stalls but unless you’re looking to buy I guess there’s little point. The grand total of my purchases was a packet of duck strip dog chews, a packet of nail buffers and a bag of chips. A trip to Caffe Nero in Brixton made sure all was not lost and as news filtered through about the violent attacks in the centre I was glad I hadn’t joined in the demo. I’m assuming some of the 500,000 actually voted this Government in so what did they really expect?

Market street

I’m thinking about going to the theatre as there are several ticket offers on. I just have to make up my mind (not easy) between ‘We Will Rock You’ and ‘Ghost Stories’. So it’s a musical or creepy drama and as I will admit to cranking up the volume and singing Bohemian Rhapsody every time it’s played on the radio, the former may just get the winning vote.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

