Baby, Baby You’re Really the Best

First the good news. The New Forest CC site was fantastic and I pushed the boat out and hired a car (poxy Vauxhall Corsa 1.2) to get into Boscombe to see Interpol.Venue was your typical stunning old-fashioned theatre with Victorian decoration and features etc. I walked in and straight down to the front where I was 3 rows back behind 2 lanky Youths. They soon got fed up with the annoying drunk Bimbo in a sequined dress who kept barging into them during the support act (Matthew Dear – very impressed) so they moved and I shifted forwards a bit more. The odd selection of people at the front weren’t really crammed together so I managed to get my arms on the barrier and then by methods of stealth known only to women, insert my entire self into the gap. By this point I was so stunned to be AT THE FRONT and hanging over the barrier that I had to text everybody who knows me well to tell them I was either going to faint, cry or die of shock. The fact that I was more or less in front of Paul Banks microphone didn’t sink in and I don’t think most of my mates believed me anyway. I won’t bore you with details of the gig other than to say it was the best night of my life, I got some Amazing photos and when Paul Banks smiles my knees turn to jelly. It was a case of scrape Lynsey off the ceiling at the end. The aching legs, pounding head, sore throat and ringing ears were worth it. All that’s left now it to see them in the USA and to meet them though somebody had better be on hand with the smelling salts.

Your chariot awaits

In Love with this Guy

This is what the front row feels like

"Goodnight Boscombe, you were fantastic"

 

The Bad News. Bit of a copout sending me an email to inform me I didn’t get the job at Hurley Riverside Park. Claiming it was because I had dogs has to be the most lame excuse ever. As I’m back here for 2 nights before we head to London I’ve been stopped by all of the staff wanting to know when I start, and then one of them informed me that last years cleaners had a dog so where’s the Guys problem?  Maybe it was a taste of things to come when I arrived at reception to be told they were only accepting people who had booked (why when the site is empty) then the receptionist suddenly changed her mind and said she had me mixed up with sombody else (Eh?!). Not sure what my next move is really. I have enough money to pay site fees for 3 – 4 weeks if I’m lucky. If I can’t find a campsite based job then it’s highly likely I’ll have to sell the van and buy a cheaper caravan (if I can find a cheap permanent site) and then at least I can get a cheap and nasty car to enable me to broaden my search for a job. This wasn’t quite what I had planned or how I thought things would pan out but all other avenues are closed at this moment in time. It’s times like this you think ” well at least I gave it a go. I’ll just crawl back and live with the parents” – oh shit I fail on that count too don’t I.

The site cleaner came up to me today to ask me when I start. News obviously doesn’t travel. She couldn’t understand why I was turned down because of dogs when the 2 women who clean the park homes bring their dog to work and tie it up outside. Hmmm maybe it was the hair but he didn’t have the decency to be honest. The day that my hair is physically capable of doing my job is the day it can become an issue, until then get a life Employers – it’s no different to you turning me down because of my skin colour/gender.  Oh well, London tomorrow. Maybe I’ll have more luck getting a job as a Hooker.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby, Baby You’re Really the Best

  1. Stephen John Reeve says:

    Hi there !

    I am reluctant to offer advice when not asked but having been in your position …….

    There are some fruit-picking / harvest jobs / general lab jobs to be found on farms. Not well paid obviously but I always found it gave me a base / opportunity to sort myself out and my finances gained a little ! Also if you stay on CS/CL sites it is not only cheaper but you can chat to the site owners (often farmers) and they may know of temporary work.

    These may not suit but its a starting point ….

    http://www.broadwaterfarm.biz/summer-fruit-picking-uk/
    http://www.pro-force.co.uk/fruit-picking-jobs.html
    http://www.pickingjobs.com/

    Grape harvest in France is also an idea. Hard work but sunny !

    Failing that find a basic camp site. Go to the job centre make it clear that you want work and they will pay you benefit….. and probably find you work !

    …. and … you like travelling / writing….. think long-term about the possibility of writing for tour guides /magazines (ie Motorhoming / Caravanning) … site reviews … area guides ….

    Ok, I’ll stop there …. apologies if any of this is patronising / impertinent – just felt like helping !

    Stephen Reeve

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      Any advice is much appreciated. I have a few websites I’ve been looking on and appreciate your suggestions. I think I was set on campsite work as I’d be around for the dogs but will have to broaden my horizons. Ah if only all jobs were dog friendly then I wouldn’t have this problem :o)

Leave a Reply

