Mad as a Hatter

Where oh where do I start with this Caravan Club CL site just outside Atherstone? I arrived with a code for the automated gates and instructions to leave my money and details in a post-box in the stable block – hmmm. Pulling into the small field all 5 pitches were taken with caravans even though I’d booked this place over a week ago. Luckily for me I knew one of the couples here, they suggested I phone the owners as there’s no door to knock on and they live here and have never seen a living soul! I was told to park at the end of the track. This would mean either driving in and having to reverse out around a tiny track or biting the bullet and trying to do a 20 point turn and reversing into the space. I was told not to drive on the grass as ‘it’s very wet and we don’t have anything to tow you out’. Maybe they should have thought about room to manoeuvre when they designed the damned layout! Times like this it’s handy to know a bloke – the couple I knew, he very kindly offered to get the van turned round for me. My Sir Galahad. It’s in a scenic area but that’s about the only good point so far. Oh the facilities are nice but you pay for them and they’re a bit of a trek. I’m here for a week so will have to make the most of it. I guess I’m just pissed off that I came over this way supposedly to be convenient for a visitor who isn’t visiting. Bollocks to that. Next time he’s in the area I’ll make damned sure there are several hundred miles if not several continents between us. Bloody men.

The Beast

Atherstone CL

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

