In the Dog House

As we all know Arseholes come in many shapes and forms. This weekends offering has arrived contained in 4 caravan and 4WD combinations. I don’t discriminate against people towing caravans unless of course Top Gear wishes to hire me and then I may have to rethink my decision. I admit to getting a daft kick out of watching the pitching ritual but then who wouldn’t when it can drag on for hours and hours. Last nights arrivals were no exception pulling up in the rain and the dark they all managed to stand around in groups of 6 or more watching each other fanny around getting the van ‘just so’, moaning cos the Motorhomes had the hard standing pitches, filling the aquarolls, putting down the ground sheet and lining the Crocs up outside in a neat and orderly row. But hey each to their own. I was a little shocked to see a black furry shape lurch out of the darkness at me when I let the Ninja out at 11pm for a quick wee though. Why do people bother to take their dog away in their vans if they have no intention of letting the poor creature inside? It’s a bit different on a nice day but not on a cold, wet February night. Poor old thing was tied up outside again this morning (torrential rain) on a length of washing line long enough to allow it to come into my van and chill out on the sofa (it didn’t) even though they are 2 pitches away from me. I then got the most withering look from Mrs Arsehole when I left the van with my 2 to go for a walk as she had to quickly come and reel the dog in – he looks very old but not too friendly. The same happened when we came back. Am I missing something here or are they the tosspots and not me? Normally my mouth would take on a mind of its own and I’d say exactly what I thought but trying to get on with everyone even if they do deserve shooting, I have to make do with ranting on this here blog. They all then piled into their cruddy 4WD and buggered off out leaving the poor dog still tied up outside the van.  The evil part of my brain wishes all kinds of nasties on people who treat their animals like this – plague, pestilence, fleas of a thousand camels infecting their body hair – that kind of thing. Maybe their van will spring a leak so they all end up as wet and miserable as poor old pooch. I guess these are the same people who roll up and sit around getting pissed while their rowdy, vile offspring run around terrorising the site and its occupants.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the Dog House

  1. Karl says:

    I love reading your blog, Always gives me a smile. If you are ever in the same area as me I would love to meet up to have a beer and a chat.

    I have had so many laughs at caravaners expense, from watching them take out EHU posts, wheel spinning until they are axle deep in the mud and attempts to put up awning when it is windy.

    Good luck with your journey.

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      I take the rip out of some motorhomers too. You know the sort, you’ve pitched up, unpacked and sat there with a cup of tea and they’re still setting up cos everything has to be so precise. I wouldn’t swap this lifestyle for anything, it’s so entertaining.

      • Karl says:

        Do get the odd character in MH’s as well. I have seen tree branches take out satelite dishes. People locked out in their nightwear etc etc etc. Not quite as frequently as tugger errors though but still quite entertaining…..

        Having said that, I have had a few moments also….. but that’s another story 🙂

      • travellingninjas3 says:

        You just have to look at the remnants of my kitchen window so see why I couldn’t possibly comment on motorhomers and their stupendous mistakes 😀

  2. Stephen John Reeve says:

    Your astute observations of campsite life underline why I choose to mix wildcamping with Certificated Sites (CACC) and Certificated Locations (CC). Might use a large site couple of times a month to use the laundry and have a good shower. Otherwise I find them too busy …..

Leave a Reply

