Being 42

42 – hmmm? I think I went wrong somewhere. I look around at other people of a similar age and they appear to be married/co-habitating/dating/parents/working/studying/fulfilled and a whole host of other things. I take a long hard look at me and I am (in no particular order of crapness) in love with the wrong person (he wouldn’t want me if I were the last woman alive)/living in a campervan/on a career ‘break’ and un-fulfilled to the point where I don’t know what the heck I want or where I want to be. I need Gok Wan but I need to him to do a hell of a lot more than just making me look good naked. 5 people remembered my birthday and some of them probably only because I let it slip. I am that idiot who has everybody’s special days immortalised on my calendar and in my diary in red and who buys and posts the cards well in advance. Being nice and considerate doesn’t get you far these days.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Being 42

  1. linda says:

    I think we all have times in our life when we wonder what we want. Sometimes its a case of we know what we ‘dont want’ but still cannot find what we do want as the path of life seems to take us along and the years fly by. Some say you can have whatever you want, if you sincerely want it. I wish I knew what it was so I could feel that sincerity that produces the drive.
    I think that the more you worry about the ‘big question’ the more you move away from finding the answer. I would suggest you stop beating yourself up and try to live in the moment.

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      I have an A level in beating myself up. I can pinpoint a million and one things I don’t want to do with life but just can’t seem to put my finger on what I do. It’s so infuriating!

      • linda says:

        I know the feeling , I am hopeless for being hard on myself as well honey. who knows the answer to what you want to do may be ‘just around the corner’

  2. lesley says:

    Dont worry about how other people seem and remember the grass isnt any greener on the other side. Try to enjoy what you’re doing and take things as they come. All these people that you know who are in relationships/have kids etc and seem to be living the perfect life will probably be envying you and what you doing. So just enjoy yourself.

  3. random stranger says:

    42??? And the rest?! :oD What you want to do is another big voddie and a bag of cheeesy puffs. Sorted! xx

Leave a Reply

