Think BIG

I’ve just spent a few hours emptying out my storage unit as my friends and ex-neighbours have kindly offered to stash my tat in their loft rather than me keep forking out storage fees. I think I under emphasised just how much stuff I’d got (3 boxes of Teddy Bears, 3 boxes of assorted breakables and knick knacks, 3 boxes of photos, more pictures than I care to count, 1 dog gravestone, 1 wooden elephant weighing 7kg, 1 box of LP’s, my Mum’s wedding dress and 1 very tatty, moth-eaten hobbyhorse). We managed to fit all but 2 boxes and 1 painting into the car so I’m picking up the remnants later on in the week.  I think I’d better buy a lottery ticket on a regular basis so I can win millions and buy myself a 34ft American RV to accommodate it all, though I don’t think anyone makes a van that I could hang pictures in – that bit if design wisdom doesn’t appear to have filtered through. I did bring a few things back with me – 2 tubes of Interpol posters (not that I have anywhere to stick them), a packet of travel locks for the USA (why?) and my Mum’s ancient and tatty recipe tin. None of the index cards have recipes written on them, all of the secrets are written on bits of ripped up envelope and scraps of notepaper – slightly faded and browning around the edges but precious to me all the same. The tin also contains several newspaper death announcements and my adoption announcement. A bit of a weird mix I guess but that’s where they’ve always lived so there they stay. The best thing is my Mum’s shortbread recipe – the original and the best. I will be baking before week is out as poor old Phil who will be putting all of those boxes in the loft will need some reward.

The sacred shortbread recipe

Now, do I choose the same 6 numbers every week or go for a lucky dip?……..

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

