This town is coming like a Ghost Town

Ah Nuneaton – the town I lived in for over 17 years and loathed with a passion, meeting up with you again after 15 months away was an unpleasant and never to be repeated experience.  The downside of driving a 25ft home on wheels is that a) the majority of campsites in the UK are in the middle of nowhere and b) British councils make it their lifes work to ensure that you cannot park anywhere within their precious town walls as ‘heaven forbid’ it may encourage undesirable Travellers to pitch up and stay – forever! Mwah ha ha.  So in order to find civilisation, a Wilko’s, Boots, Sainsbury’s and a mobile phone shop I had to catch 2 buses to that one place I was thankful to leave. At the ridiculous cost of £7.20 on the bus and an hour of being driven literally around the houses I was deposited in Nuneaton’s bus station and my god was it grim. So many of the shops that had closed down before I escaped were still boarded up and for rent but the biggest shock was the demise of M&S, that old stalwart of the British high street is no more in Treacle Town. I fear there aren’t many more nails to bang into the coffin before the place becomes deserted. I expected dried up tumbleweeds to be blown across my path as I zoomed about getting what I needed so I could get the hell out and quick. The one sight which made me smile was the increase in teenage/young weirdo’s – clad in black, pierced and with rainbow hair – it gladdened my heart. The scary part was the increase in people who looked like their parents were related and not in a legal way – the sloping gait and lack of teeth; it was like being on the film set of Texas Chainsaw Massacre or The Hills Have Eyes. I did meet somebody I knew and they asked if I was ‘seeing anyone’, now no one ever asks me that, in fact people don’t ask me that as they presume no man alive is so desperate so thank you Dot for making my day. I was glad to leave last October and even more so today. I wasn’t so glad to see my connecting bus pulling out of Atherstone’s bus station as my bus pulled in. Do these drivers not realise that their hick village service might be required by the people about to get off? I had 2 choices – spend an hour in Atherstone (fate worse than death) or get a cab. £18.20 is a hell of a lot of money to fork out for a trip to hell and back again. Someone needs to invent a car which at the press of a button shrinks to the size of a Dinky toy so it can be stored in a pocket or bag then my prayers would be answered. Note to David Cameron – if you want people to use public transport then at least make it affordable and not so bloody expensive that you have to sell your body/re-mortgage your house in order to buy a one way ticket into town!

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

