Religion is bad for my soul

After all of the Xmas markets and chocolate shops I decided to immerse myself in a bit of culture – start the New Year as you mean to go on and all that. I set off into Bruges – still jam packed with flipping tourists. Do these people not have homes and jobs to go back to after the festive lunacy? I was heading for the Groeninge Museum after the lady who gave me the tin of Heinz Beans told me I really must see the works by Hieronymus Bosch or Hiroshima Bosh as she called him. Now I’m the first to admit that I read stuff and don’t take notice well this is a classic example. The Museum had an exhibition of Van Eyck paintings so the permanent collection wasn’t on display – I figured it’d still be worth a look. How wrong can you be? If you’re devoutly religious then I suggest you skip this next bit but I never want to see another painting, sketch or carving of the Madonna and Child, the Crucifixion, the Ascension, the beheading of John the Baptist  or of the Virgin Mary with her boobs out feeding a pig ugly Christ child. Enough already.  To really put the icing on the cake I visited the Basilica of the Holy Blood which is a fantastic looking church with pretty amazing interior too. The glass vial of what is supposedly Christ’s blood was on show and under normal circumstances I would have gone up onto the platform for a closer look being such a non believer but there was a scary woman in white sat with it and a sign proclaiming you should faun over it in whichever way you saw fit and leave a donation. Now those who know me well had already said it would probably go up in flames if I so much as looked at it so I didn’t bother. The nearest I got to spontaneous combustion was the red flames on my New Rocks.  I could now do with an evening of debauchery etc to make myself feel cleansed but I’m in Bruges on my own so not much chance of that. I’ll have to save it for when I get home.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

