Croissants are depressing

There’s a nice Aussie guy staying at the site called Doug. We’ve chatted in passing as he’s touring in a hire motorhome to get a taste of life on the road and is keen to maybe buy one to live in when he gets back to Oz via visiting his Daughter in London for Christmas. This afternoon he knocked on my door and presented me with a croissant he’d bought for me in Bruges (before you start giving me that look he’d also bought some for the Jersey couple). I hadn’t the heart to tell him I couldn’t eat it and just thought it was the nicest gesture. So why does it make me sad? Because the last time a bloke ever did anything like that I was 18 yrs old and he was and still is the love of my life. Back then it was Jelly Babies from a proper sweet shop in Hinckley opposite where he worked. In the 23 yrs since then I’d have been lucky to get a slap. I guess it’s just as well the memory of those sweets is still so fresh in my mind then as it may be another 20+ years or longer before I can expect anything so nice. Of course buying me anything now would be a minefield as it has to be vegetarian (which jelly babies aren’t) and gluten free (which croissants certainly aren’t). How many blokes do you know that could be that bothered?  Yeah same as me – none.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

