Should I stay or should I go?

I love Bruges and not just because it’s wall to wall chocolate shops. There’s something very calming about being here and I could quite happily move in. The houses around St Kruis are just lovely and I’m adding this to my list of places I would live. Maybe I should start looking for a job though I doubt most Belgians need help in speaking English.  On todays agenda was to pay my 8 Euros and climb the 366 spiral steps up to the Belfort (Belfry). Probably not best attempted in my New Rock boots but it was too flippin cold for my sneakers so bovver boots it was. My god I thought my heart would explode. Thankfully they have several stopping off points on the way up where you can catch your breath and wonder what the hell you’re doing. Meeting people coming the other way is a bit hairy as you all try to hang onto something as one party squeezes past but at last I reached the top. It was slightly disappointing as with most buildings I’ve seen on my trip they’re doing restoration work to the panorama room so only half of it was open but the view was pretty spectacular. There is now mesh across the windows so no jumping to your death like ‘In Bruges’. Going down was easier on the old ticker but the steps seemed smaller somehow and I had visions of going arse over tit. I was given a voucher which entitles me to a free ticket to another museum for the inconvenience of the tower only being half open. It seemed only fitting after all of that cardiovascular workout that I had Frites and Mayo to make me feel better.  

2 other things which have made my day – finding Bailey’s in Lidl for what works out to £7.75 a bottle (at last something which is cheaper than the UK) and the kindness of other Motorhomers. Not only have people been leaving me their unused bus tickets to make use of but 2 ladies from Hartlepool gave me a huge block of Mature Cheddar before they left this morning. I can’t even begin to put into words how much I have missed and dreamt about decent cheese so this will really make my Christmas and I am forever grateful.

The view from the Belfry

The white blob is where I was standing taking photos

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

