In Bruges but not starring Colin Farrell

I think the craziest plans to leave a site are best left until the last minute that way you avoid hours of stress and worry. I sat and watched our German neighbours dig out their Mercedes (fitted with snow chains) and caravan from what must have been about 8” of snow. Then he cleared some of the drive way and the dreaded incline to get out onto the main road. I debated over my porridge whether we should grab the chance and leave at the same time, after all if they could do it then so could I – ha ha what foolish thinking. The site owner still had to part tow the Merc and caravan out and then it was my turn. I packed stuff away in about 5 mins flat and cleared the snow away whilst he puzzled as to how to fit the tow strap to my van. I had my instructions on what speed to aim for as we got to the hill – sounds simple enough. It took several attempts and a few spade fulls of gravel before I even got the van off the grass aided by his Citroen Berlingo van and then we were off down the drive. It took 2 attempts to get up the hill (I was too slow) and finally I was on the road and free and very grateful. I think he was fed up of English females with ‘summer tyres’ as he put it, on their vans by this time so I shook his hand and took off for Bruges. We are now safely installed at Camping Memling just 3km outside the centre of Bruges. It’s not very busy – about 4 or 5 Vans – all Brits, the guy on reception was very helpful and didn’t charge me for the dogs which I thought was kind of him. We have supermarkets nearby, a bus goes into Bruges and there’s everything here we need including a wood for dog walks and an internet ticket vending machine! The plan now is to find my favourite chocolate shop, see some sights and maybe take a boat trip on the canals whilst avoiding any ex-hit men throwing themselves from tall towers. Oh and I finally took note of my own advice and stopped at the very first garage we saw to fill up with LPG. I will learn this motorhoming lark eventually.

The Beast at Camping Memling

It’s bloomin marvellous to talk to someone English in a morning especially when it’s all gone quiet on the email front. I guess as my European travels are nearly over people aren’t interested anymore, or they’re too busy with Crapmas or whatever.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Bruges but not starring Colin Farrell

  1. lesley says:

    I have been reading all of your escapades and it sounds real exciting although I must admit a very brave thing to do on your own. Ilive on my own and it wouldnt bother me travelling around Britain going around Europe would be a different thing. I wish you well with the rest of your trip and a safe journey back to England. You certainly havnt missed anything here! Lesley, Dewsbury, West Yorks.

  2. lorna says:

    HI HOW COULD WE FORGET YOU WE LOOK WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND WHERE YOU ARE HAVE A LAUGH AND WE ALL SAY YOU SHOULD WRITE A BOOK WHEN YOU RETURN THANKS FOR THE CHRISTMAS CARD NOT LONG NOW TILL YOU ARE HOME HAVE A GREAT CHRISTMAS STAY SAFE LOTS OF LOVE FROM US ALL X X X

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      Don’t worry I was having a dig at a few people who probably don’t even read this. Glad the card arrived. If you want any chocolates bringing back get Charlotte to email me your requirements :oD

Leave a Reply

