Feels like Home

It’s weird really that considering how mortified I was with Germany when we first arrived that this place – Freiburg is the one place out of all those we’ve stopped in where I feel I could stay and call home. I don’t know why, I walk out of the campsite and I feel like I could live here quite happily. The surroundings make me feel comfortable and the town whilst not huge has plenty to offer.  I mean it has 2 Starbucks – what more could a girl ask for. Not many people speak good English but that doesn’t bother me at all. In every shop I’ve been in if I need help then they’ve gone off to fetch someone who speaks enough to get by. It’s odd how you think certain countries will be brilliant but they turn out to be a huge disappointment. Austria I would be happy if I never set foot in again. It’s expensive, the people aren’t that friendly and Vienna is an over rated shit hole (excuse me being blunt).  Germany is odd in a way I can’t quite put my finger on, Belgium apart from Ypres and possibly Bruges I would avoid like the plague, the Czech Republic I’d like to spend more time in as well as a list of other former communist countries, hopefully with an intact kitchen window next time.  I’ve been reading Michael Palin’s ‘New Europe’ and I have to agree with him in some ways that the countries who are so up themselves are the ones who don’t have anything to be proud of.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

