” That is why I hold you dear”

Europe may not be my dream, the campsites may be expensive and grotty and the people may not be that friendly but those 1251 miles travelled and the thousands of euros spent so far were worth it for 90 minutes in a small cramped venue in Vienna, 4 rows from the front with sweat running down my back as I watched Interpol in complete and utter admiration yet again. It didn’t even bother me being there on my own, they’re my band and until someone else ‘gets’ them like I do I won’t entertain company. On the way in I had a full ‘pat down’ body search by a female security guard who then patted my arse when she’d finished! The support band – Surfer Blood were good and bless them they only looked about 14 yrs old. Que the smoke machines and 5 shadowy figures walked onto the stage to a small uproar and there they were – Daniel, Sam and Paul – the love of my life + the 2 newbies. Admittedly the sound was a little off in places, the roadie in charge of setting up the microphones should be shot and the band knew that. The set list was a little odd and I would’ve preferred more stuff off the new album. They didn’t play Leif Erikson (my tattoo) but then if they did the medics would have had to scrape me off the floor. They did play’ Untitled’ which still brings me out in goosebumps so I’m happy. The 2 new guys seem to fit in well but Carlos D leaves a big hole to fill. They seemed chuffed to bits with the crowd and the venue. Apart from the pisshead who stood in front of me for the encore and the silly cow with the big camera who pushed everyone out the way I can go along with that. She with any luck will have a nice array of bruises on her back from my elbows, be missing a a few hairs which accidentally got caught in my camera and her photos will be out of focus from where I pushed her. Don’t mess with me love where Interpol are concerned cos you will come off much much worse. You’re lucky I didn’t take off a NewRock boot and smack you round your ginger head with it. I would’ve had a standing ovation from the group of people you were pissing off.

Interpol

Daniel Kessler and Paul Banks

Paul Banks

Paul Banks

No one else can sing like this and make my insides feel like they’ve been zapped by the Hadron Collider. That alone should be a compliment unlike no other. Til the next time Boys.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

