Feeling Festive or Felt up?

” The Wiener Christkindlmarkt is by far the largest and probably best known christmas market in Vienna ” so the tourist website informed me. Assuming that large and well-known meant ‘great’ I trooped off to the Rathaus in keen anticipation of being filled with Christmas spirit and Gluhwein. It’s a good job the building was worth photographing then as the market was pants. The ‘handmade’ Xmas goods were the same as I have seen in Germany and Salzburg and most of the stuff on offer was as festive as the Easter Bunny. Did my hair attract any dashing young men to come run their fingers through it whilst proposing marriage? No. Did it attract any batty old women who had the cheek to assume it was a wig and proceed to check the back of my head for a join? Yes.

A bit of Christmas cheer

The Rathaus

I have the sneaking suspicion that the annual German Xmas Market in good old Brum would probably have been better and it’s certainly larger. Probably explains why this one was such a disappointment, as my friend pointed out ‘they’re all over in the UK’. Never mind, I made some loonies day so I’m sure it was worth the trip.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

