Boobs, Bums and Bits

Sometimes the best things in life are right on your doorstep. This is certainly true of the Ernst Fuchs gallery and museum which is a 5 minute stroll from the campsite.I’ve been intrigued by the bizarre and colourful collection of buildings and statues since we first passed them on our way here and any walk to the shops or bus ride takes you past to further the intrigue. I handed over my 11 euros and was basically left to my own devices by the gallery attendant. The place is a bit of a double whammy because not only do you have the stunning architecture and decor of the villa but also the bizarre collection of Fuchs paintings and sketches. They were surreal, bright and took my breath away. This guy has a thing about the nude (male and female) and religious themes and they were truly stunning. There were several smaller works for sale – all 4 figures or more so I certainly wasn’t leaving with one of those. I had to settle for 2 postcards – 1 depicting one of my favourite paintings entitled ‘DAEDALUS AND THE NYMPH’.

Daedalus and the Nymph

See, just the kind of painting my Mother would have let me hang in the living room. Prints were also available and I’m toying with the idea of parting with 20 euros or 80 if I’d like it signed by the Artist. Only problem is where do I hang it in a campervan?

The Blue Salon

The Adolf Bohm Salon

Queen Theresa statue

Of course the most striking example of boobs and bums was the bronze of Queen Theresa on the arcade. Scary looking woman with odd nipples that looked like lions or snakes from a distance and I didn’t want to get too close to find out – I was in full view of every car and person going up and down Huttelbergstrasse and I really didn’t fancy being spotted with my face pressed up against bronze bosoms, the Viennese don’t seem that liberal.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

