Designer Hell

Another bit of Vienna visited today. You read the travel guides and the tourist websites and they enthuse about certain areas and streets that you ‘have to’ visit – ignore them I say cos they haven’t got a flipping clue what people are looking for. Today I ticked 3 of the ‘major’ shopping streets off my list with an appalled sneer. I’m not really looking to buy anything but it would be nice to see somewhere a little different or with a little bit of character. I have no interest what so ever in Zara, Mango, Tiffany’s or Cartier or shops of a similar ilk and this is all Vienna seems to be about – over made up women of a certain age mincing about with their designer bags hanging from a well manicured hand. I stomped around looking like my usual ‘funeral extra’, took loads of photos of fantastic buildings, had a coffee in Starbucks (again) but there was just something missing from the experience. The one shop I did venture into and only because I wanted postcards, was manned by a tiny, batty old dear who was losing impatience with 2 Americans and the place smelt of farts – I kid you not. Mind you after 6 days of the vile showers and loos at the campsite and the underground which smells just as bad my nostrils shouldn’t be that easily offended should they. My rubbish directions meant that I didn’t find the Gustav Klimt exhibition but that can wait for another day. I need to find weird, eclectic shops to satisfy my mooching mood. Do I stop some random disaffected youth in the street and ask them where they shop or just give up and save my euro’s? Somebody out there has to have written an alternative guide to these places or maybe that’s the opening I’m looking for.

Stephansdom

Kohlmarkt

Are you local?

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

