Some as big as your head!

Ahhh time for my foray into Vienna using public transportation. First stop was the Naschmarkt – which is basically a daily market (mainly fruit and veg) but on a Saturday it’s partnered with a renowned Fleamarket. I’ve often wondered where that name comes from? After a browse around the stalls today it has to have come about cos everything looks like it’s been eaten or infested by fleas. What a selection of bizarre paraphernalia – Sun, Sea and Bargain Spotting it wasn’t. It was a bit like a scary version of a British car boot sale but on a crazy level. From here I ventured through the remainder of the market, note to self – do not do this again at lunchtime when probably hungry. The Viennese  like to eat. There was pizza, there was Chinese and Vietnamese food, there were kebabs. My stomach was rumbling and my mouth was watering but it’s no good when most offerings consisted of meat or bread. The fruit and veg stalls were another story – some weird-looking things that I have never seen in my life and which would look at home in a Martian landscape and Pomegranates as big as your head! It was delightful and I will go back but not at a weekend and not with an empty belly. I’d decided to stick to one of the main streets today – Mariahilferstrasse, apparently well-known for its eclectic mix of stores. It was about the length of Oxford Street but without the tourist tat. I found a well-known Viennese coffee-house for a cup of refreshment – it was called Starbucks, marvellous place  😮 I bought something typically Austrian….a Stars and Stripes mug which will go nicely with my flag, and a glass racing car tree ornament for my ‘festive’ tree. I’m pretty sure I could visit somewhere different every day in this city judging by my map so maybe a bit of culture next time.

Natural History Museum Vienna

Random religious building

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some as big as your head!

  1. lorna says:

    well fancy that a starbucks did you have toast.when you go back to the market keep your eyes open we saw richard gere

    • travellingninjas3 says:

      Richard Gere ! My god I’d faint. I had a vanilla latte at SB’s, the cakes looked yummy but none gluten free

Leave a Reply

