Feeling a bit ‘Midge Ure’

My 4 hour/212 mile journey turned into a 190 mile/6.5 hour journey. The joy of Sat Nav’s yet again – “Would you like to avoid toll roads” – hmmm seeing as I’ve just paid 24 euros per night at the campsite in Salzburg I think I’d better. Before we left town I did have to find the local Fressnapf (bit like Pets at Home but better) for Chloe’s fix of sea herring and chicken dog food – urgh, and the only garage in the area to sell LPG – except it wasn’t a garage but a mechanics with a yard full of old VW Beetles. The chap was an absolute gem so that made up for miserable campsite owners. Then we were on our way. I’m guessing stupid sat nav took us on the equivalent of England’s A5 as we passed through every town and village along the way and more roundabouts than I care to remember. It was mainly stress free for me as the smallest Ninja slept nearly all of the way – wrapped in my hoodie on my lap – but I don’t care as I’d rather that than over 6 hours of her stressing out.  I did indeed play ‘Vienna’ when we got about 3 miles from the campsite (close enough).  I can’t say this place is where I would normally choose to spend 2 weeks but it seems clean enough and is in a pretty residential area. I’ve been warned about dodgy Eastern Europeans so when I book in tomorrow I’ll get a better idea of who’s who and where. Free internet – that makes me very happy, the knots in my neck and back from driving make me unhappy.

The Beast at Camping Wien

Even though the plan to stay in Europe is a FAIL (too damn expensive, too weird, too foreign), I have achieved something – 1251 miles….. 46 days…..and more Euro’s than I care to calculate…..I’m here Interpol so you’d better make sure that the show on the 18th is the best you’ve ever done or Paul Banks had better propose to me afterwards!

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

