I am 16 going on 17 (41 going on 12 more like)

The weather has been beautiful today so no excuse not to get the bus into Salzburg town. I appeared to be the only person in just a t-shirt so either I’m hot blooded or the locals feel the cold as they were all wrapped up ! Salzburg seemed smaller than I remembered but then I was only 12 the last time I was here. Weird how some places and sights etc seemed so familiar right down to the badges I used to buy for my Austrian hat and the metal plaques Mum used to get for her walking stick. I took the funicular railway up to Hohensalzburg fortress where the views were spectacular. I just had to visit the Mirabell Palace and gardens and walk down ‘those’ steps  – you need to be a Sound of Music junkie to know what I’m going on about. I’m now debating whether or not to go on a tour of the film locations etc – I know I have to while I’m here, and not just because they play all of the songs on the bus. I’d better gaffa tape my mouth

Salzburg streets

Hohensalzburg fortress

View of Salzburg

Mirabell gardens

Mirabell Palace and gardens

The icing on the cake was nothing to do with our trip. My friend texted me to say she’d got us tickets to see Take That in June. If she gets tickets to see the Kings of Leon as well I promise to bake her shortbread every week for the rest of my life.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am 16 going on 17 (41 going on 12 more like)

  1. Clone says:

    oh my life, i’m sooooo excited, it’s those steps!! how can you resist not singing doe a deer as you jump up and down them!!!!

    Loving the updates!!

Leave a Reply

