The Hills are Alive….with the sound of me singing

Yes we have finally arrived in Austria – Salzburg to be precise. I was expecting a basic site but the guide book must be several years behind as this place is great. We have the most amazing view over Salzburg.

 

The Beast looking out over Salzburg

Our view of Salzburg

 

I’m doing things backwards here as we’ve not had internet until now so I’d better backtrack to Germany and Munich.

165 miles in one go was not a good idea to get to Munich. Chloe was stressed and I was at screaming point so never again. The site was basic and a bit old fashioned and the pitches small – no internet (disgraceful) but great dog walks off site. I ventured into Munich on their subway system – makes London underground look like a skanky toilet. Had a few hours mooching around the town which was lovely for the old ornate buildings but far too many clothes and shoe shops for someone who turns green at the thought of shopping. I did visit the Toy Museum which was tiny and took my usual photo’s of buildings.

 

Munich Rathaus Carillon

Munich Rathaus

Munich Dom

 

From Munich we headed into Austria and the Tirol region. The scenery was stunning and by far the best drive we’ve had so far. I had to stop and purchase a Vignette for the van and I’m still paranoid that I should’ve bought a Go Box but when the girl explained it would cost me 150 euros for getting to Vienna and back I decided to go for the cheaper option – I may still get arrested yet but I’m avoiding toll roads like the plague. We arrived at Camping Seehof near Kramsach and I can only say it was the most stunning place to be. The only downside was that the electricity was metered so I didn’t even hook up for our one night – I’m hard me. The best feature of the site was the free dog shower ! All 3 mutts went in as they were past stinky. Due to her liking for rolling in all things smelly or dead (liquid cow poo), Izzy got to go in twice. Sitting looking out of my window at snow covered mountains and listening to cow bells was just so relaxing.

 

Camping Seehof - lake

So that brings me back to Salzburg. There is a bus service into the town so I will be off exploring tomorrow – I last visited here when I was about 12 or 13. Until then I can sit here and wonder which mountain it was that Julie Andrews was running around singing on. Every time I set foot out of the van I want to break into song – best not.

 

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hills are Alive….with the sound of me singing

  1. Liesl says:

    Hi Mate

    Looks amazing, sounds like you are getting into the swing of things.

Leave a Reply

