Death Wish 4 – not staring Charles Bronson

We left the picturesque Terrassen campsite and headed the 85+ miles east in the rain to Campsite Romantische Strasse. I expected maybe 15 – 20 miles of driving through the forests before we hit the autobahn but no. Let me just say that my Sat Nav now has a new name, she is called (and you’ll have to excuse my language) Sadistic Bitch Bastard for taking me up (mainly) and down and round every ‘scare you shitless’ sheer drop out the window mountain road for nearly 40 miles ! At times the Beast was struggling even in 2nd gear and I had serious concerns that we’d make it. After 50 odd miles we finally hit the autobahn….and then got off it 2 miles later. True to form SSB directed me off the road that would take us to the site and sent me off up another narrow, winding road only to find it closed off for road works. I had to reverse for 2 miles as there was hills to my left and another sheer drop to my right – fine if you’re doing a 3 point turn in a mini but now when you’re 25ft long with a big arse overhang. Despite punching in ‘find alternative route’ the damn sat nav was determined to send me up farm tracks so bugger that I carried on to the main road til she finally got the point.  We are again halfway up a mountain and indeed on ‘Romantic Road’ which is a pretty route from Wurzburg to Fussen. The site is pretty and the owners speak good English and are very friendly and helpful.  I’ve changed the voice option on my sat nav to the bloke in the faint hope that he will know better routes.

Romantische Strasse campsite

Romantische Strasse site

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

