Salut Ypres – we love you

Yes today we finally packed up and bid farewell to Ypres and the wonderful Camping Jeugdstadion (boo hoo). Our destination? An Aires in Bellem (free camping).

Now despite all of the warnings from well wishers about parking on my own I was indeed the only motorhome parked alongside the canal in Bellem but as there were houses about 50 yds away I had no intention of leaving. I needn’t have worried as by tea time I had been joined by another Bessacarr and a British couple on their way back to the UK. They were sporting a ‘Motorcaravanners Club’ sunstrip in their van so I quickly got my stickers out of the cupboard and put them on my front and side windows – see I am in the Club. There wasn’t a lot to do in Bellem but sit and watch the enormous industrial barges travel up and down the canal. The majority of these had a car strapped to the cabin roof so I may trade my van in for barge life, even though I don’t do boats. Despite the Aires book stressing you should shop locally the only shop was a bakery so I couldn’t oblige but I did leave drool marks on their window.

Bellem Aires

The Bessacarr Club of GB :o)

You couldn't pay for a better spot

Having decided I couldn’t listen to anymore BBC World Service I started surfing the radio waves. I found ‘Joe FM’ playing Pearl Jam and it is now one of my favourite stations. They play a bonkers cross-section of UK/US music with the odd spattering of Euro trash. I haven’t got a clue what they’re babbling on about who who cares – I’m converted.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

