Grim by name and Grimmer by nature

Leaving an overcast and wet Bellem we headed east towards Grimbergen and our next campsite. It served me right for going ahead and paying up front for 3 nights when after only a few hours I’d discovered that I really didn’t like the site nor its owners. Don’t get me wrong the toilets and showers were as immaculate as the guidebook stated. What Alan Rogers fails to point out is that 90% of the site would be blocked off and you’d have to pitch under a canopy of trees therefore no daylight and lots of mud and the owner? was an ignorant pig. I asked if there was anywhere in the town that I could get onto the internet – this translated to his ears as ” Is there anywhere in town that I can score heroin or cheap scuzzy men for sex” considering the look he gave me and the reply was that I’d have to go into Brussels for ‘that kind of thing’. Marvellous. You could only leave or enter the site when no neck was working on reception 8.30 – 11.30am or 2 – 8pm so no late night rave ups then. There was a vending machine (empty) phone (only takes phonecards) Cats (feral) Germans (miserable) and 1 old British couple (lovely) oh and we were right underneath the main flight path for Brussels airport (rubs hands together in glee). It wasn’t just me either as the other Brits also thought it was a dreadful place and that the staff were miserable and rude.  Having read the site rules my particular favourite was this – ” Behaviour, Dressing, Conduct and Talk must not give offence or cause a scandal”. The mind boggles.

Grim Grimbergen

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

