Everything but the kitchen sink

Much to my delight Ypres does indeed have a market on a Saturday in the square outside the cloth hall. There was the usual clothing, household goods and fabric stalls. Cheese and fish stalls like I’ve never seen in my life – who the hell cares that you can’t get cheddar ‘over here’ when there is so much variety. I managed to buy Izzy a toy rabbit for a few euros to make up for the real ones that keep thumbing their noses and flashing their tails at her as they run away laffing.

I kill you pesky wabbit

I kept hearing ducks quacking and couldn’t figure out where on earth they’d be as there was no pond only a fountain that runs into the ground.  Well, Nuneaton market may have won awards for being one of the best in the UK but you don’t get these on any of their stalls….

How many of these to the lb ?

Chickens or guinea fowl?

Chickens – a variety of breeds, ducks and guinea fowl and then the biggest surprise ……rabbits (as in fluffy pet bunnies) or guinea pigs for 4 euros each! As much as I was tempted a) where would I keep it and b) did it need a pet passport? I guess it makes a change from buying fruit and veg.

I do however need to find out what the Belgians have against fresh milk. I haven’t seen any since we arrived – it’s all long life stuff. I’ve had to resort to buying the dreaded soya milk (yuk) as goats milk appears to be rarer than rocking horse shit. Saying that I did see one carton on the market today for 2.90 E – you are having a laff. If this is what I can expect in Luxembourg, Germany etc then maybe I need to find a market that sells goats aswell as fowl. I can bungee strap it to the bicycle rack when we’re on the road and slap a fiamma warning triangle on it’s butt.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

