Life is like a box of chocolates

Nice stroll into Ypres town this morning, the objective being to get info about what to see and do so I could plan my week. It really is a lovely town and hard to believe it had to be re-built after being devastated in the 1st war.  I found 6 chocolate shops, visited 3 and purchased from 1 – bang goes the dairy free regime

My one true sin

I found a record shop – remember those things? They existed before Amazon etc, and I foolishly spent 20 euros on a CD. I haven’t paid that much since they were first introduced in the early 90’s. This is the downside of Mr Postman not being able to follow me around Europe.  I ate Frittes ( forgot the mayo) outside a cafe in the square and have planned to go on a tour of the local battlefields and cemeteries. Much better to pay someone to take me than haul the Beast and pooches all over the place. There are enough places within walking distance to keep me busy for the week.  The locals are friendly but sad to say the only people acting like idiots were British Teenagers. I got the impression they were here to learn about the sacrifices made by so many to keep that tiny island independent. It’s a shame that we appear to be breeding generations who have such little respect. I’m sure those soldiers would turn in their graves if they could now see what they fought for.

Ypres Cloth Hall

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

