A History lesson

I walked down to the Menin Gate to see the Last Post ceremony. Hard to believe they do this every evening and have been since 1928 whatever the weather. There was a huge turn out, lots of the British old chaps in their suits and medals and all happy to have a chat. There are over 54,896 names inscribed on the gate of the 100,000 men from WWI who have no grave. I found my Great Grandfathers regiment – The Royal Warwickshire’s and there was an A.Manton listed – I wonder if we’re related. The ceremony really brought a lump to the throat. I look forward to going down again while we’re here.

The Royal Warwickshire Regiments fallen

The Menin Gate

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A History lesson

  1. jennie says:

    You WILL be okay stop panicking enjoy the moment ( each and every minute ) and it is not a one way ticket to no where…. It is a ticket to somewhere and although England is not “home” you can always come back.. ( asif )

    I wish you luck in everything you do and you will succeed .. so take a gulp of the fresh air lol.. and remember their are lots of peeps wishing you good fortunes… and look at this way you are doing it for them also .. some of us just cannot go.. even if we wanted to…

    I was 14 when I saw the Awful Tower a petrified little girl ( school holiday yuk ) soo now I am an old lady lol dont forget my photo when you get there autumn winter spring 011… whenever.

    okay

    jennie xxx

Leave a Reply

