Headless Chicken

I am one of those people who writes lists. When I was at school my Mum was forever telling me off for coming home with stuff written on the backs of both hands (I’d get someone else to write on the back of my right hand) that I had to remember to do. Imagine my great delight then when Post-its were introduced. My radio and desk at college/work would be covered in squares of yellow paper which I would take home at the end of every day as they had reminders on them of stuff I had to do. This obsession has now progressed to notebooks – I carry several with me. Every time I remember something important it goes in the book. These past few months of ‘getting the hell outta here’ planning have seen me turning into some kind of scribbling maniac. Of course the problem is that no matter how many times I write down what’s left to do I always forget something. I’m just over a week away from leaving – I’ve earmarked Saturday 19th Sept as ‘The Day’ and I’m still having ” shit shit shit” moments where something really important pops into my head. Today it’s getting an International Drivers Permit. Luckily for me it appears that I can get one at the Eurotunnel terminal rather than braving Coventry’s post office. There has to be something else I’ve missed.  The final list which I’m now sticking to a cupboard door only contains the following – Weigh Van, get GB number plates fitted, get safe fitted somewhere out of sight, travel insurance, travel money, post my Will off to the Probate office, waste pipe and of course the IDP. I have a feeling I will be sleeping with a pad and pen as the day draws ever closer just in case I have another brainstorming moment.

Meanwhile life here in Wolvey is still fairly quiet. There are more and more caravans now inhabited by a strange mix of workmen, the Germans and Dutch are here but sadly so too are a few boozy Brits. I can always hope that they’ll lean too far over the pond when fishing and fall in. It’s not deep enough to drown a drunk but I’ll get one hell of a kick out of laughing at their misfortune.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

