Parking Problems

I suppose the situation had to rear it’s ugly head sooner or later. Today I had to take my smallest beloved Ninja to the vets as she’d been poorly since Monday (too much roast chicken). Now I’ve never been to Filey before and Google Earth gave me the stupid impression that there were several large car parks opposite where even I had a good chance of parking the 25ft Beast while we nipped in the vets. W.R.O.N.G. ! Just opposite was the perfect spot or at least it would’ve been if several selfish businesses hadn’t used 3 of the spaces to ‘park’ their billboards, Somerfield – I would’ve just filled their car park and the one behind the bus station was being done up – you forget how things move on and change since Google sent it’s cameras hovering over the planet.
In the end – running late, I had to park outside the practise on double yellow lines and rush in. I was more traumatised than Chloe which is unusual as she hates vet trips but for the 20 mins we were there no goose stepping Traffic Warden slapped a ticket on my windscreen – for that I am grateful.
I wish Town Councils would face up to the fact that we don’t all drive around in Smart cars and nippy little 1.1 L Citroens and Toyota’s. Some of us need substantial space – a bit like coaches but not as greedy. I don’t want much – 4 or 6 spaces would be great. You seem able to accomodate everybody else – disabled (goes without saying) and parents with kids (cos of course they’re too damn lazy to have to walk from the back of the car park).
I doubt this will be my 1st parking nightmare but I know Europe are more motorhome friendly so hopefully it may be my last.

All of this could’ve been avoided if scary, rustic old bloke who helps out here at Bobbybee’s had told me earlier that he would take me anywhere in his truck so I didn’t have to move The Beast. Sweet but frightening at the same time. I’m hoping he doesn’t notice me bugger off to Bridlington tomorrow without asking for a lift !!

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Parking Problems

  1. Rosalie says:

    Hi I was wondering how you got on at the vets with Chloe, not seen anything on the forum.

Leave a Reply

