Communal Living

Day  5 ‘on the road’ and we have moved about 35 miles up the coast to a village called Burton Fleming. The campsite is called ‘Bobbybees’ and despite some odd reviews about the facilities I liked the sound of a site that had free roaming chickens and turkeys.

When I pulled in yesterday I did wonder what the hell I was letting myself in for as the drive and farmhouse were akin to Grandpa’s house in ‘The Lost Boys’ crossed with Steptoe’s yard – random wooden sculptures and bits of architectural salvage littered the place. Further on were the 3 former Silo’s – now turned into loo’s and showers and a scattering of little wooden pens and enclosures housing guinea pigs, rabbits and budgies. My journey was halted by 2 cockerels having a scrap in the road! and a passer by told me the place was ‘dead basic’. Basic or not I loved the fact that there were chickens and guinea fowl pottering about and 2 scary looking turkeys called Frank and Mork. The owner was very friendly and helpful if not a little odd. But despite all this there are 4 or 5 huge fields with a scattering of tents and caravans surrounded by rolling fields of wheat and great dog walking possibilities. Yes the facilities are a little ramshackle – 1 shower for the Lay-dees, but there is the Chuck Wagon which opens for breakfast every day 9 – 10.30 where Rob serves up breakfast buns and proper coffee and he has a license to serve booze on bank holidays. The campers have a slight ‘new age’ air to them and the kids seem to be having a blast. When I walked back this morning with my water container I felt like a hippy living in a commune and that felt great. In fact I haven’t stopped smiling and laughing since I arrived because it really is so bizarre, there’s even a mini Stonehenge in the field at the back of my van !  Tomorrow we may venture out to see the local area but I think I will have to stay another day or so.

If people want clinical facilities then they’re welcome to them. I like wacky just fine especially when I get feathered visitors and I can buy their eggs and honey from the bees that are kept here.

About travellingninjas3

Scarlet haired veggie/coeliac/tattooed/charity shop loving rebel sold everything to take to the road with 3 Yorkies in a campervan to discover the meaning of life & blog about it. It all went well for 18 months but then a flippin bloke walked into my life and turned it upside down so now the travelling has come to a halt but I still live in the van but in a field - marvellous :o)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

